Got questions? Call us: 0508 2COMPARE (0508 226672)

Leave a review of MyRepublic

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7

Terms of Use and Privacy Policy apply

MyRepublic

Best Gaming Broadband Provider

MyRepublic is the New Zealand’s first fibre broadband only Internet Service Provider (ISP). Their plans are truly unlimited and they're ready to unleash the potential of their fibre broadband network from Whangarei up north to Invercargill down in south. They believe in delivering an awesome internet experience for all kiwis at mass-market prices. All this with no lag, no limits and no holding back.

Beyond ultra-fast internet access, their Pure, Gamer and Business fibre broadband plans provide a customised, enhanced level of service that goes far beyond what is possible on older technologies such as ADSL, VDSL or Cable.

MyRepublic started in Singapore in 2011, where they shifted the ISP landscape dramatically and now they plan to do the same here. MyRepublic is committed to delivering the benefits of the UFB for all kiwis.

** NOTE: The above information has been provided by the ISP or reproduced from their website **

Total: 5.6
Reliability 5.2
Speed 6.0
Support 3.8
Features 5.0
Value 5.2
Average from 95 reviews
Showing 6-10 of 95 items.
2020-02-28 20:24:19
Rob 8.0
All sorted within 48 hrs I had already got fibre connected to my house, I was waiting for the broad band compare deals, all done $65 for the month, spark was charging me $99 for vdsl after 14 years with spark I probably paid 16 k and they couldn’t offer me the same deal. Bye spark hello my republic.
Pros
Best price and efficient
Cons
Spark couldn’t compete
Read a response from the ISP
May 4, 2020
Response from the ISP
Hi Rob, thanks for the great review! We are really happy to have you on-board! Cheers - The Team @ MyRepublic
Collapse
2020-02-03 18:13:49
Phillip Bridge 2.8
Just dont do it. Its not worth saving the $10-15/month as you will consume that in hours trying to sort issues. Several issues i have had:
1. Phoning thier 0508, once you're a client doesn't work as they IDypu and will accept browser based chat only unless you prefix calling from a cellphone with #31# to hode your number.
2. As above, the browser chat will crash your browser. Over and over again. Even though they know who you are snd your cell number, they wont contact you back.
3. You wont be able to login online to check your account. If you csn, you soon wont, then you need to go through 1 and 2 above.
4. When you loose your credit card, your payment will fail, they will add $10, you can login to finish a late payment but because your normal login doesn't work you cant fix it unless you go through 1 to 3 continually.
5. Wheb you do pay, you will get a confirmation of payment at 1pm, then at about 2.30pm the same day they will send a tect and email saying you are suspended for non payment, then you have to go through 1 to 5 above continually.

Eventually you'll figure out its not worth $50 a month cheaper.....it was awful....all finisged off with bad hold music and americanised accents....just delicious!
...read more
Pros
Price, nothing else.
Cons
Customer support is very poor. Backend systems also poor. Worse than budget. You will more than consume savings trying to fix issues.
Read a response from the ISP
May 25, 2020
Response from the ISP
Hello Phillip, it's unfortunate to see we didn't meet your expectations. We will definitely pass this feedback onto the team. Feedback like this motivates us to do better. Regards - The Team @ MyRepublic.
Collapse
2020-02-02 09:13:09
Bing 5.8
Broadband is good, value is good, but customer service is terrible. For a company who should have managed the change over of my ISP providers, they didn't. I would recommend that you manage everything yourself or face endless bills. Worse thing is after all the emails (for documentation), not a single person ever said sorry, or at least sorry for the inconvenience.
Pros
Good price, good Internet
Cons
Endless stress when contacting them. Good luck getting a straight answer.
Read a response from the ISP
May 25, 2020
Response from the ISP
Hello Bing, sorry to see you rated us poorly on Support. We will definitely pass this feedback onto the team. Feedback like this motivates us to do better. Regards - The Team @ MyRepublic.
Collapse
2019-12-21 07:19:00
Riaan 4.2
I was approached about three weeks ago by customer service to go to new plan. I asked to explain in laymen terms the difference, no difference. I decided to state current issues. Poor WIFi coverage, I bought throug them Extraterestrial extenders and new Router, still poor, Internet seems to slow down at night. They were looking into solution 3 weeks ago, follow up emails and still not resolved poor service, I do not recommend.
2019-12-18 13:44:59
Joseph Billena 4.0
Good service. Though, they seem to slowdown your speed from late nights to early mornings. Cheeky. When I am watching netflix (and no other devices are streaming), it would still buffer now and then. Buffering while watching Netflix = Better look for a new provider.
Pros
fast customer service
Cons
connection of 100mbps varies. When watching Netflix (only one device is streaming), it buffers now and then, which is kinda annoying.
Showing 6-10 of 95 items.
Best Broadband for streaming Netflix in NZ
Dec 6, 2017
Best Broadband for streaming Netflix in NZ
The way we watch TV has changed.  Netflix is here.  To ensure you get the best Netflix experience you want the best broadband plan for Netflix.  So if you’re a big Netflix streamer read on for details of the best broadband plan for Netflix. 
The Best Broadband for Gaming in NZ
Dec 6, 2017
The Best Broadband for Gaming in NZ
Different users use the internet in very different ways and there is no one size fits all broadband plan that is the best broadband plan.  If you’re looking for the best gaming broadband than read on!
Broadband Deals for University Students in NZ
Dec 6, 2017
Broadband Deals for University Students in NZ
We’re very fortunate that the big Universities in New Zealand are now all fibre broadband enabled.  All well and good when on campus… but what about in your digs?  Check out these Student broadband deals for 2018
Student Broadband for 2018
Dec 6, 2017
Student Broadband for 2018
It's great that tertiary education fees are going to be made free... but we're afraid your Student Broadband is not.  But there are great Student Broadband Deals to be had.
The Commerce Commission warns four New Zealand internet providers
Aug 13, 2017
The Commerce Commission warns four New Zealand internet providers
News just breaking in the broadband world that four companies have received warnings from the Commerce Commission as they are considered to have breached the Fair Trading Act.
MyRepublic Half Priced Broadband Promo - It's back!
Mar 15, 2017
MyRepublic Half Priced Broadband Promo - It's back!
It's back!  ...but for a limited time only.  The MyRepublic 6 month half priced promotion when you sign up to a 24 month 100/20 fibre broadband plan!
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
offer
EXCLUSIVE OFFER
Unlimited Fibre 100 - ONLY $62.95/mth
Terms and Conditions apply
offer
UNLIMITED BROADBAND from $59.99/mth when you bundle with Energy. Limited Time Only. T&C's apply
offer
Get up to $200 CREDIT and
Free Amazon Prime for a year*
Limited-time offer