Got questions? Call us: 0508 2COMPARE (0508 226672)

Latest Broadband Reviews

Your broadband reviews are crucial to helping Kiwis make an informed decision on their next broadband provider so please take 60 seconds to review your current NZ internet provider below. A review of your current provider allows the ISP’s to gather real feedback from customers and gives you the opportunity to highlight anything great or not so great that you may have experienced. Please submit a review below.

28 May 2020
Lorraine Adams 5.8
text) > 500) : ?> I was initially quite happy with my Spark wireless connection. However, during the pandemic lockdown, having to use Zoom for meetings, my internet would drop three or four times in the space of two hours. This was intensely frustrating, hence my deciding to switch to a fibre connection, and, interestingly I found a provider with a cheaper plan than those Spark was offering. ...read more I was initially quite happy with my Spark wireless connection. However, during the pandemic lockdown, having to use Zoom for meetings, my internet would drop three or four times in the space of two hours. This was intensely frustrating, hence my deciding to switch to a fibre connection, and, interestingly I found a provider with a cheaper plan than those Spark was offering.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Absolutely no issues when moving house, the internet switch had always been seamless. Any time I contacted customer support during my time with them, my issues were resolved swiftly and courteously ...read more Absolutely no issues when moving house, the internet switch had always been seamless. Any time I contacted customer support during my time with them, my issues were resolved swiftly and courteously
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Dropping connection during Zoom meetings. Pricing more expensive than others. ...read more Dropping connection during Zoom meetings. Pricing more expensive than others.
25 May 2020
Mykhailo Ivanov 7.4
text) > 500) : ?> Overall, I am impressed. ...read more Overall, I am impressed.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> The connection is very reliable and support is quite helpful. ...read more The connection is very reliable and support is quite helpful.
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> The cost could be lower. ...read more The cost could be lower.
24 May 2020
An IT Professional 3.8
text) > 500) : ?> NOW Broadband simplify the process for your average person to connect to the internet. Some anecdotal evidence suggests that they have user-friendly customer support, however I have yet to identify truly useful support.
Their after-hours phone support is not support at all - more secretarial than anything as they are apparently unable to fulfill even the most basic service requests (i.e. Report network status), they appear to be there simply to act as a human voicemail.
I am sure their technical team have an idea what they are doing, however, their business model is to wrap their customers in bubble-wrap by preventing them from performing any configuration of their own devices. Their modems are locked-out by default, meaning you are fully dependent on their staff to perform even the simplest tasks, who as mentioned earlier, are only available at certain times of the day.
This dependence could be considered a security risk, as even changing the WiFi password requires going through them.
Lastly I'd like to note that unlike most other ISPs in NZ, NOW does not have a tool to report their network status, making it difficult as a potential customer to identify service reliability, and also difficult for an existing customer to identify the origin of connectivity issues.
...read more NOW Broadband simplify the process for your average person to connect to the internet. Some anecdotal evidence suggests that they have user-friendly customer support, however I have yet to identify truly useful support.
Their after-hours phone support is not support at all - more secretarial than anything as they are apparently unable to fulfill even the most basic service requests (i.e. Report network status), they appear to be there simply to act as a human voicemail.
I am sure their technical team have an idea what they are doing, however, their business model is to wrap their customers in bubble-wrap by preventing them from performing any configuration of their own devices. Their modems are locked-out by default, meaning you are fully dependent on their staff to perform even the simplest tasks, who as mentioned earlier, are only available at certain times of the day.
This dependence could be considered a security risk, as even changing the WiFi password requires going through them.
Lastly I'd like to note that unlike most other ISPs in NZ, NOW does not have a tool to report their network status, making it difficult as a potential customer to identify service reliability, and also difficult for an existing customer to identify the origin of connectivity issues.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Simple connection for simple people. ...read more Simple connection for simple people.
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Limited support availability; Built-in dependence on their team for simple tasks; Lack of transparent processes; ...read more Limited support availability; Built-in dependence on their team for simple tasks; Lack of transparent processes;
24 May 2020
Paul McKinley 4.0
text) > 500) : ?> After 2 years of moaning about their service I have finally decided to kick them into touch and try another provider. I don’t recommend anyone using this provider. I’m paying for high speed unlimited fibre and I’m not getting anywhere near value for money. You can’t talk to them you have to online chat if that’s at all possible. The only good service they do seem to possess is taking your money on time. ...read more After 2 years of moaning about their service I have finally decided to kick them into touch and try another provider. I don’t recommend anyone using this provider. I’m paying for high speed unlimited fibre and I’m not getting anywhere near value for money. You can’t talk to them you have to online chat if that’s at all possible. The only good service they do seem to possess is taking your money on time.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> None ...read more None
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Everything ...read more Everything
23 May 2020
Colette Anne Brick 5.2
text) > 500) : ?> After acknowledging I was being charged too much for my plan they offered a cheaper plan but after 6 months I gave up trying to get the new plan implemented. Numerous phone calls and emails and still not sorted ...read more After acknowledging I was being charged too much for my plan they offered a cheaper plan but after 6 months I gave up trying to get the new plan implemented. Numerous phone calls and emails and still not sorted
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Vodafone TV box ...read more Vodafone TV box
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Communication is appalling ...read more Communication is appalling
23 May 2020
David 5.2
text) > 500) : ?> Fine until you need to contact them. Slingshot have tried to automate their help process and it has not worked. I logged a help desk call 20 days ago and am still waiting for some service. Despite their TV adds there is no way to speak to a human. ...read more Fine until you need to contact them. Slingshot have tried to automate their help process and it has not worked. I logged a help desk call 20 days ago and am still waiting for some service. Despite their TV adds there is no way to speak to a human.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Their on line user portal is good. ...read more Their on line user portal is good.
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> They don’t value customers and don’t have a way to provide appropriate customer support. ...read more They don’t value customers and don’t have a way to provide appropriate customer support.
22 May 2020
Barry Winter 7.4
text) > 500) : ?> I changed because Flip do not provide fibre broadband - it is time to upgrade.
Flip has been fine to buy ADSL from but that time has gone ...read more I changed because Flip do not provide fibre broadband - it is time to upgrade.
Flip has been fine to buy ADSL from but that time has gone
21 May 2020
Stephanie 9.4
text) > 500) : ?> Excellent service, installation easy, broadband never skips a beat, love the local person call back service. ...read more Excellent service, installation easy, broadband never skips a beat, love the local person call back service.
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Local, reliable and responsive service and simple to understand. Can include a phone line. ...read more Local, reliable and responsive service and simple to understand. Can include a phone line.
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Unlimited plans may not always be the cheapest, but if reliability is paramount this is the company for you. ...read more Unlimited plans may not always be the cheapest, but if reliability is paramount this is the company for you.
21 May 2020
Matt 4.4
text) > 500) : ?> Hands down the worst isp I've ever felt with
Their speeds were fairly stable , but did have connection issues every 3 months or so. Their major downfall is their contact center. No phone based support means it's next to impossible to sort out a connection issue ...read more Hands down the worst isp I've ever felt with
Their speeds were fairly stable , but did have connection issues every 3 months or so. Their major downfall is their contact center. No phone based support means it's next to impossible to sort out a connection issue
20 May 2020
Paul 6.0
text) > 500) : ?> I have been with 2 Degrees when it was Snap about 7 years ago.
Reliable Broadband let down by greedy price Increases ...read more I have been with 2 Degrees when it was Snap about 7 years ago.
Reliable Broadband let down by greedy price Increases
Pros
pros) > 250) : ?> Reliable hardly let you down. ...read more Reliable hardly let you down.
Cons
cons) > 250) : ?> Greedy pricing. During Covid 19 Outbreak they wanted to increase my price by $25 pm for ADSL. Explained I had been with them about 7 years and if I wanted a new cheaper plan I would have to go on a plan with a termination fee off $199 for 12 months. What a check to one of your original customers. ...read more Greedy pricing. During Covid 19 Outbreak they wanted to increase my price by $25 pm for ADSL. Explained I had been with them about 7 years and if I wanted a new cheaper plan I would have to go on a plan with a termination fee off $199 for 12 months. What a check to one of your original customers.
Showing 10 of 1849 reviews

Leave a review of provider

Reliability
7
Speed
7
Support
7
Features
7
Value
7
Login
×
Log in with
Sign up for free NZ Compare account
×
Log in with
3 Great Offers
×
offer
EXCLUSIVE OFFER
Unlimited Fibre 100 - ONLY $62.95/mth
Terms and Conditions apply
offer
UNLIMITED BROADBAND from $59.99/mth when you bundle with Energy. Limited Time Only. T&C's apply
offer
Get up to $200 CREDIT and
Free Amazon Prime for a year*
Limited-time offer